Poets logo

Consequences

'Unscramble' Challenge

By Christy MunsonPublished about a month ago Updated 30 days ago 1 min read
8
Consequences
Photo by Bradyn Trollip on Unsplash

A second entry created for Heather Hubler's delicious 'Unscramble' Challenge. For this poem, I challenged myself not only to create an acrostic, rhyming poem that Unscrambles a 12 letter word, I also challenged myself to decrease the first words by one letter (12, 11, 10, etc.) until the final line (which proved harder than I'd even expected). Then I ended with my 12-letter word. Here we go...

..........

"So let the weary land be rested and the killing season over

Let the shadows stretch forever in the light of burnished silver

For I fear the age of consequence and I wish that it was over"

--Winter, New Model Army

..........

Calculations made without concern, principles dispersed.

Objectivity be damned, you say. Someone else can care for Earth.

Namelessly, shamelessly, you await your prize.

Sacrifice the universe -- to live through others' eyes?

Earmarks for your projects, dear?

Qualify the cost.

Uglies, lies, are hunting you. Why do you look so lost?

Ernst? You were, once, back when...

"Name the place and time."

Can you please turn your cell phone off?

"Eh?" Is your reply. I smile.

Sadistically, you laugh. But you fail to recognize.

There will be CONSEQUENCES, dear, for every earthly crime.

***

Copyright © 03/28/2024 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

social commentarynature poetryheartbreakAcrostic
8

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Check out my Welcome! article 👋🏻 for nav assist & Vocal creator recommendations.

Top Stories: 🥳

APR 2024 | APR 2024

MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 |

FEB 2024 |

JUN 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler25 days ago

    That line says it all!! Sadly, so much of this is what I see from day to day anymore. I love that you challenged yourself even more!

  • Paul Stewart28 days ago

    As a massive fan of acrostics...I was already sold on this...Then you just weaved this perfect bit of social commentary and that last line just says it all. Well done on a brilliant entry into Heather's challenge, Christy.

  • Whoaaaa, you always never fail to amaze me! I loveeeeee what you did to all those first words!

  • Caroline Craven30 days ago

    So clever! This is such a great entry for the challenge.

  • Shirley Belk30 days ago

    Nice one and worthy subject!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.