Poets logo

Complicated Love

From Parent to Partner

By Kate GallPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
45
Complicated Love
Photo by M. on Unsplash

You were ready for me

But I cannot say

I was ready for you

Yet I gave you my body

Fearing I might lose you

So small and fragile

I worried and lost sleep

I feared I might lose myself

To your powerful scream and flailing limbs

You took, seemingly without giving

But that’s not true

You brought me joy

I pampered and took care of you

Helping you

Grow up

____________________________________________________

*Note: This is a reverse poem, submitted to the Inverse Challenge. Reading it from bottom to top should offer a different perspective compared to reading it top to bottom.

CONTENT WARNINGsad poetryFamily
45

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (27)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    One of the best inverse entries I’ve read so far! This does a great job of capturing the frustrating but also gentle love, and it flows both ways. “You took, seemingly without giving But that’s not true” is probably my favourite bit. Well done🙌

  • ROCK 3 months ago

    When I read it inversely I loved it more; I was intimidated by this challenge; I am glad to discover you and learn from you as well. Excellent piece!

  • Daniel J. Heck3 months ago

    I really enjoy how this seems to be about both a child and an adult at the same time; I had to re-read the subtitle and think a while before I interpreted the whole thing! You got a very haunting point across, in both directions. Well done.

  • Sara Wilson3 months ago

    Tragic. But Beautiful anyways. Congrats on your top story.

  • Fly Alone3 months ago

    In reverse climax is amazing

  • Some wonderful words in this excellent piece

  • Marc Linah3 months ago

    this was exellent

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    Daaaaaaaamn, instant new subscriber. This is impressive, Kate. Seriously. Love how smooth this reads either way. Well smooth with that jagged honesty, particularly on the reverse. Well done, congrats on Top Story and this is an exceptional entry! Can't wait to read more of your work!

  • Bew3 months ago

    Amazing works, Congratulations!! Please visit mine

  • Bew3 months ago

    Wow<3

  • Kodah3 months ago

    ❣️ Beautiful Beautiful Beautiful ❣️

  • Amarieana Hicks3 months ago

    I love how this poem can have two different meanings based on which way you read it. It's very interesting!

  • Test3 months ago

    Check out Nichita Stanescu’s “Sentimental Story” for another example of an inverse poem.

  • Thavien Yliaster3 months ago

    The feeling of wanting to love and be loved, but the fear of losing it all or not having enough. Yet, as humans sometimes we think of it too linerarly and place love on a scale, and sometimes with a this-for-that, and how we feel like we've been giving too much for too long or have been restraining ourselves forever that we just can't take it anymore. Yet, why does love have to be this balancing act of who's ready and willing to give what of themselves? Why can't we just be honest with how we want to love and feel loved?

  • Marie Wilson3 months ago

    Good work and congrats on TS!

  • Eloise Robertson 3 months ago

    SO GOOD well done!

  • D.K. Shepard3 months ago

    Amazing! I had trouble conceptualizing a good inverse poem until I read this!

  • JBaz3 months ago

    Wry impressive. And congratulations on a well deserved Too Story

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    This is incredibly well done. Congrats on the TS.

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Yesssss, I'm so happy to see this as Top Story! Huge congratulations. This was so exceptionally done. 💗

  • Annie Edwards 3 months ago

    I loved this!! I love the reverse aspect also. So well done 👏

  • This took me by storm. Fantastic job

  • J. R. Lowe4 months ago

    So beautifully bittersweet 👏👏

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    Wow - this is incredible and so, so powerful. Magnificent work. 💗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.