Poets logo

Coming home

to me, myself and I.

By Emily NgPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Face the wind and embracing the cold.

I am first found in nothing. Frozen in fear. Paralyzed from movement. Still like a marble statute. But slowly, I am moved by soft whispers. Embraced by strong hands. My heartbeat harmonizing with a rhymtic melody coming from all around me. I then remembered what it sounds like, to hear whispers from the sky, from across the water, from the sinking sands beneath my feet. I heard those soft whispers again and I remembered what I heard when I listened to the wind brushing over branches dancing in mid air. What I saw when I watched the leaves rustle in the soft glow of a new morning. Perhaps it is in this moment when I first think to myself, this is a new start.

I could remember also hearing the yearning in silent screams. Or perhaps more appropriately the silenced screams. I heard the agony.

This agony caused me to wonder. I wondered what the shivers on my arms meant. I wondered what the rumbles in my stomach meant. I wondered about it. I felt it all. All of the despair in my heart.

I beg the yearning in me to help me.

What if nothing changes?

What if everything changed.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Emily Ng

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.