Poets logo

Golden like sunlight

I dance across water

By Emily NgPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Sunset on a river.

Directionless.

Effortless.

Full.



For me, yellow is sunlight on a bright afternoon.

Dancing across the sky.

Shimmering through the trees.

Winking between the clouds.

Golden.

Daring.

Afraid of nothing. 

When did I learn to ask, “Is it safe?”

On the playground?

In the school yard?

In the classroom?



My favourite colour is yellow.

One day we played a game in class.

The teacher said, “Stand here if your favourite colour is yellow.”

I joyfully danced over.

Stood there.

Expectant.



Moments passed.

My heart raced. My hands sweat, my feet sweat. A lump grew in my throat.

My heart dropped.

No one came.

I stood there.

Completely still. Completely alone.



My mind was relentless.

A downward spiral swept in.

Does being me mean being alone? By myself? Forever?



Next time, I choose blue. Everyone’s favourite colour is blue.

For me, blue is water.

Spouting icy comments.

Shooting piercing glares.

Armouring my heart.



Leaving me completely alone.

Again.



One day I walk by the river and see sunlight dance across water.

I stand there.

Mesmerized.



Still.



I then remember.

I am not blue like water.

I am golden like sunlight.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Emily Ng

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.