Poets logo

Come Out My Sunshine

A queer poem

By Elijah Marr Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo I took of a sunflower

“Come out for me my sunshine”. Oh, I could never ask

For only you can decide when you’re ready at last

I get that it’s scary, all the unknowns before you

The hatred from those who insist that you choose to

I’ll wait, patient, t’ill you’re secure shining your great light

For I know it to be peaceful, warm, lovely, and bright

It’s a shame hiding is necessary protection

Just know that as you are is genuine perfection

The only shame would be to not live authentically

Remaining silent, convinced content in misery

“Come out for me?”. No. You can only come out for you

Share with the world what is beautiful, wholesome, and true

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Elijah Marr

I am a recent Fine Arts graduate looking to find my voice. Thank you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.