Poets logo

Come on in, The Waters Fine.

Air is over rated

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
13
Original painting [email protected] @_wytberart

Yeah, I knew I recognized this place,

I’ve been here a time or two before.

The view looking up from the bottom,

how did I end up on the floor?

*

Just before I reach the top,

you push me down again.

Offer your arm to help me out,

then you pull away your hand.

*

How is it I fall for this game,

The hide and seek, your it, without me?

With no warnings all the rules change,

and I’m on the losing team

*

I thought we had a connection,

a powerful bond with invisible string.

But you keep me here for your protection,

then walk away like I don’t mean a thing.

*

Fool me once they say, shame on you,

fool me twice, its shame on me?

Yet after 3 or 4 more times,

I think I need some new instincts.

*

If I don’t, I won’t survive,

I’m drowning in your assurances.

I need to get a grip or else,

some basic life insurance.

*

I need help fast, I’m fading,

If fact, I just don’t wanna care.

Just fill this hole with water,

stand there and watch me grasp for air

*

My fight gets less aggressive,

I find after all, the waters fine.

I’ll take one final long deep breath,

then sink back down inside.

*

Below the waters surface,

close my eyes and drift away.

To a place of gentler tides,

and lovely dreams of yesterday.

sad poetry
13

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.