Poets logo

Come Lay Beside Me Please

A Lover's Whisper Heard

By Kelly RobertsonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
7
Come Lay Beside Me Please
Photo by Becca Tapert on Unsplash

Immolating anger sparks hotter

than a pyre, burning brighter with a fire

that smolders deeper than a ruby’s heart,

and shrouds me in its cloud of smoke

I choke, coughing out such vengeful words

that only ever stoke and burn

a rift between us as we suffer through

the aftermath. And yet despite it all

you never fall, nor bend beneath the heat

like a wilted flower pressed beneath the sun’s embrace.

You stand tall, a beacon in the night, so bright,

and beckon me back to your calming shoals.

Come lay beside me please.

My pride seethes at your request,

pacing the cage its been locked within

like a prowling lion seeking to dismember

the first one to surrender as you come closer

with a white flag raised. Roaring louder,

I claw my chest and beat my breast,

refusing to relent when the fire burning

inside feels so right. My pain can only blossom

when the ashes have been spread

and life springs from the deadened battleground,

the hill I died on to make my final stand.

And yet still you whisper, the gentlest breeze

That rustles through the blackened trees and

Clears the air between us.

Come lay beside me please.

Still, I cling to my frustration,

worried to let yet another part of myself go

though it digs its claws in deeper,

and rents a greater part of my soul,

cauterizing wounds sliced open as we

hash out this familiar fight.

I want to be right, but I know I chose

the wrong side. Gutted now and cast

in shadow, my fury’s candle flickers out

and drops me in a cavern, a despair

of my own making, taking me deeper

into guilt and sorrow, yet somehow still

you reach deep down and pull me from

the hollowed ground and whisper

Come lay beside me please.

Emptied out and chilled instead

where once the fire burnt and spread

between us, you pull me in and

hold me close, kiss my cheek,

wipe my tears, calm my fears

and bring to light the smile that

I tried to fight, to bury beneath this petty plight,

now forgotten in a lover’s embrace.

The fire gone, the beast now tamed,

I cast away the guilt and shame

And acquiesce to your request

Come lay beside me please.

inspirationalsad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
7

About the Creator

Kelly Robertson

Wrangler of chaos. Creator of more. Writing whatever my heart desires, from fantasy to poetry and more!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Colt Hendersonabout a year ago

    Loved this. Everything is perfect.

  • Whoaaaa, your choice of words and imageries were so brilliant! This was so beautifully written! Loved it so much!

  • suman mohanabout a year ago

    Very Nice!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful poem. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.