Poets logo

Color Within The Scar

Beauty Configured by Trauma

By Jacob O'NeillPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
HELLO

I am Jacob O’Neill, an aspiring lyricist, I have been writing for well over a decade and am honored to finally have an opportunity such as this. For my installment of the challenge: Color Is Pride, I wrote multiple (6) Spanish Sonnets each containing 121 syllables, followed by a free verse conclusive stanza; collecting 795 syllables altogether. Thank you for reading and judging my poem: Color Within The Scar.

Color Within The Scar by Jacob O’Neill

(1)

Color? Where to start? Picturesque of the broken.

Heart beat sold, around again.

I, Born half maroon, thanked my mom.

My dad he swore up. Sunken, superficial.

Dark deep black, partook in blood.

Mine, catastrophe, tattoo twine.

Darkened my liver, I’m Alive

Rot set to my tongue, I’m Alive

Once beauty in Rose, I’m Alive

Winter comes closer, felt the breeze.

Still red, fire. Soon to be quaint.

Taken quite harshly, tar set aflame; my heart.

The Gas that ignites the flames black odorless.

Someone confess, yes,

A decade perhaps late.

-(2)

Love taught by my bear,

Eight years older report.

I did so, I felt the blues

Or so I called them, left alone

Behoove me direct, his unknown attempt at love.

Direct me, I feel only...

Paint me so I’m covered... only blue.

Doubted my instinct, six conside.

Doubted my instinct, years denied.

Doubted my instinct, bore a lie.

If six years had any, he ran it,

With no clue, consequences.

Karma within pride. A Brown Big paper bag.

He left me inside, as if I would have stayed

I Didn’t stay, but, I kept the Big Brown paper bag

-(3)

At the age say? Twelve, Thirteen, l o a d i n g s c r e e n.

Days out, away from home.

He tore off the bag, years drowned me.

Within one second, broken from a fracture

Permanent, around again.

Do I remember? I can taste.

Stares solitude; dark red ash

Stares solitude, break down

Stares solitude, abandoned.

Burnt ground ash is gone, his question,

Awoke hate, sleeping for years

Tapped by the inkwell, yellow teeth, bright red soul.

Such a fool to light such malicious color.

Green was honestly virtuous as a gas.

-(4)

Still I justify, the lungs high bombardment.

Styles, miles around again,

Keep an appetite with lions.

You just want a pet, shallow parades a fish.

Compived colors and tints

Tilting trees I compare

A Yes Man I watched, No! I scream

A Yes Man to who? No! I scream

A Yes Man believes I’m crazy.

Vultures oversized bites divine

They had it; their way with me.

Finally away, furthest from the fog once.

Barely now held by the purple amethyst.

A woman who’s eyes, invited my garden.

-(5)

Not painful, but scarred from a broken promise.

Made over around again.

We stood our places, I stood still.

Turn me on with words, vocabulary-me.

Sing to me, please my invoice.

Answering machine SUCH.A.DREAM

It’s hardened but hot, legs locked in

It’s softened when cold, a lost gaze

Is brighter when off, amethyst.

My lost gaze must be fixed on you.

Sadly said, not my feelings

Sanctioned an owned grin, which

Should not be sought.

A temple I stay, regality dismay

Upon civilian Table-Top Tea-Sets.

-(6)

Painting a painters portrait left me mindless.

Tied my voice, around again

Tranquility que, as Amber.

Orange glowing out, to me a mark, highlight.

Cyanide, pupils roaring.

Perhaps mine and hers, shared by one.

We are not the same, not as he.

We are not the same, deserving

We are the same, her and I.

We share his black tar, Was I blind

She buried thus applied escape

Now she shines brighter, pure golden amber.

A pure gold sister, I always had sisters. Gianna. Falynn. Bella. All embody me.

-(C)

So if you ask me a story made of the colors putrid patient, I’d measure the lengths and depths of light seen, before the dive gets too deep, stop go back and prepare. Nothings to matter if you run out of air. If you’re one of the rarities, being sown by reused fabric is a feeling, about to snap.

Don’t do it.

Change isn't conclusive.

I love you

I love you

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jacob O'Neill

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.