Beat logo

Songs+

LGBT +

By Jacob O'NeillPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
https://youtu.be/s1tAYmMjLdY

Hey Jake here, I’m straight, but trauma turned me upside down and trained me to be what I am today. Perhaps the person that’s within people withhold because fear, music is freedom, ask the chapel, they sing gospel...

My list of songs, however, details only songs that affected me, during my life. They all independently in their own special way helped me understand MY own sexuality. Furthermore, I wish I could post all my songs on here, for they all helped me and guided me to the person I am today. Thank you for reading and taking the time to read my list of five.

1. Nibble Nibble by Say Anything. Album:Hebrews

This song painfully starts, “The man who touched me, he cornered me benteth the trees.” He goes on to explain how the man tried to abuse him, or ‘touch’ him before his revolt, “then a billion teeth tore his hands apart”, most the rest is just heavenly harmonization. In my opinion. I know defnitnely not for everyone, but please check this one out. Also the lead singer has autism which is even more willfully put: you can do anything

2. Thnks Fr Th Mmrs by Fall Out Boy Album: Infintiy On High

This isn’t the song that should be here by this artist, I’m aware of they’re many sexually stated songs. In this song however when I first had heard it, made me confused. The song is about a lost love and expressing how the feeling was so similar perhaps better with anew significant other. “He he taste like you only sweeter” however the lead singer is male for those unaware and I didn’t put into my mind that he was speaking in a females point of view, so this songs on here for all the wrong reasons. It just made me feel more exubrient with how I vocalized myself and my voice, completely due to the fact of me thinking he was gay.

3. Parents by YUNGBLUD Album: The Underrated

This artist has been rising in popularity lately so I’m not surprised if you aren’t to see him on here. Perhaps the first verse depicts his sexuality, how his parents, definetly his dad not allowing him to be himself, “so I tied him up with gagher *gafer* (duct)tape and locked him in a shed, then I went out to the garden and I f**led my bestfriend”, didn’t matter in the end. With more than this song he degrades the traditional way people have categorized sexual orientation. A very interesting person.

4. I Miss You by Blink-182 album Self titled

Blink is by far my favorite band even since the second departure of Tom Delonge... The song isn’t the main part that made me question anything, the video flipped the entire script. Very gothic mansion with All three in makeup, however, whenever the camera wasn’t on the singers or Travis (the drummer) it would show spiders, blood lipped men kissing eachother, women walking through a lake in all white, it’s a piece of art, please watch the video on YouTube. Especially if you’ve never heard of blink you need to. Feel free to take a listen to the newer blink as well, the new singer Matt Skiba isn’t bad at all.

5. If I Had You by Adam Lambert Album: For Your Entertainime

This song came out when i was in elementary school. He highlighted the darkness which really entrigued me, he led me to not be afraid to be feminine, I found out later that he was gay, it made more sense why people made fun of me but ‘haters gonna hate’, he gave me a fashion sense for black with makeup but shiney things as well it evolved into me. Take a listen.

Take a listen to all of them please, message me and tell me how you liked them, or disliked them, or thought they were cliches. Thank you

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Jacob O'Neill

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.