Poets logo

Color of Life

A return to the source.

By Simple DelightPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
My mother, looking confused and curious as a child in 1972.

I open my eyes and there was light.

A light so alarming, penetrating me.

Tears come out and I'm screaming, terrified of this foreign world.

Just moments ago, I was still in that swamp of warm liquid,

The heartbeat of another human pounding through me.

I was connected, though the light there fainted, I couldn't see.

As I walked my path, I was confused, lost, alone.

I longed to go back to that darkness,

I longed to be held,

I longed for a kiss from someone so gentle, to reminisce and to melt.

With these unexplainable longings I went on, growing, seeking, loving, hurting.

Every moment reminded me of that first burst of light,

when I started to live with loss, fear, forgetting how it all started,

forgetting the fragile tube on my belly, cut off by scissors, and I was rootless.

Until one day, I closed my eyes, hopeless and distraught.

Drifting back to my mother's womb,

I saw the darkness again, and the fainted light.

I open my eyes, and there was color.

The color of life, the color of light.

The color of a rebirth, the color of delight.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Simple Delight

Life can be so delightful and blissful when you act from an open mind and an open heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.