Poets logo

Collective Thoughts

Pt. 3 I Want

By Jasmine Marie♥️Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Collective Thoughts
Photo by Irene Giunta on Unsplash

I cover my face in this paint

Trying to be a happy

I look in the mirror and I see

I see a little girl looking back at me

Scared of what she’s going to be

She’s crying inside

But beauty queens

They don’t cry after their faces are made

She’s telling me to be strong

She’s telling me it’ll be better

I blink

Now its just me

Holding back the tears of shame

This person I’ve become is no longer me

I scrub the paint till I bleed

I feel nothing

Numb as can be

I look in the mirror again

This time she’s crying and yelling

But not at me

She’s yelling at herself ashamed

Of what she’s turned into

It’s not her

It’s not me

But it’s us

We made us

We are to blame for the misery that we have caused

We no longer feel just smile and nod our heads

It’s not us anymore it’s just me...

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jasmine Marie♥️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.