Poets logo

Cold Breeze

And Bitterness

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
19
Cold Breeze
Photo by Christopher Campbell on Unsplash

I felt a draft sweep cross' my legs

as the zephyr nipped my skin

fighting off the guilt that begs

the clock chiming, 2 am

*

wrapped up in a dream I didn't know

that I was in

the frigid air, my breath doth show

my will is growing thin

*

the winter chill consumes me

patchwork mazes mark my flesh

predictions of a banshee

with a warning to express

*

seek the fields of dandi

for lions, with no whiskers to be found

a yellow labeled brandy

bullet holes scarring the ground

*

whispers of becoming

crawl like spiders down the hall

I keep a list of my shortcomings

hidden in Babushka dolls

*

the sun peeks through my window

another day to call my own

I go where hope and winds blow

collecting the seeds that I have sewn

surreal poetryFor Fun
19

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    Again, some stunning imagery here, and loved the original wordplay when splitting dandi, lion, and fields👏 Beautiful to read. “patchwork mazes mark my flesh” stuck out to me when I read this. Well done!

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    Another work of art, Kelli!

  • This was brilliant Kelli. Your choice of words, the way you weave lines together always floors me.

  • Tressa Rose4 months ago

    So beautifully written ❤️

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    This is fabulous, Kelli. Great use of the word prompts

  • Very imaginative... lovely relief of... "the sun peeks through my window another day to call my own."

  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    I really like this, Kelli! Hard to pick a favorite stanza. I'm partial to this one for the vibrancy: seek the "fields of dandi for lions, with no whiskers to be found a yellow labeled brandy bullet holes scarring the ground" The rhythm throughout this is so well done. The imagery is so compelling and unique, especially that ending. Great poem, wonderful read. I went back again because it's just so good. ❤️

  • Dandi for lions. I really loved that! Your poem was sooooo beautifully written!

  • Poppy 4 months ago

    Ooh this is so gorgeous!! Each stanza is marvellous. "I keep a list of my shortcomings hidden in Babushka dolls" Such an awesome yet saddening line!! And the ending... that was superb!!

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    Wow!! This is absolutely magnificent. I loved: "seek the fields of dandi for lions, with no whiskers to be found a yellow labeled brandy bullet holes scarring the ground" Stunning. 💗

  • Challenge well met, Kelli!

  • Oh man, I absolutely love this. What a strong voice and style! I could really feel this in my bones. Great poem!

  • Test4 months ago

    Awesome story!!! Loved it!!!❤️

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Wow. That's incredible. Well done, my friend.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.