Poets logo

Coffee Stains

we hold the world in the palm of our hands. it’s time we take a step back. deep breath. see the bigger picture.

By Youri JosephPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Coffee Stains
Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

I am a seed, I suppose. The chemicals that compose me will decompose and bleed my life force into the ground. My roots reach down, spread out, and surround me in a fortress of solitude. Let the earth, which resides in the depth of my iris, be imbued with the virus of piety. The paradox lies in the sense that in this unstable and uncertain society we leave no room for dubiety of any variety. Cling to me. I am a deity. I will hold you tighter than the grip of addiction from the nicotine in the cigarette sticks I slip between my rose red lips. While like Atlas of old I spin on my axis and hold the two poles of this realm in calloused rough palms, and direct you to follow the stars as you sail across my sun-kissed skin and find there in, within this wrinkle of time we call life, my reason for living eternally. I am diurnally hoping my internal stains are from coffee not sin. I am akin with the nature of time and its flow, but, for reasons unknown, I’m not bound by it. I stem from a place before the beginning. Yesterday I was, I am, and will be. Today I am me. Tomorrow the world will keep spinning and my garden will bloom. Roses entomb my core as their thorns draw out of me a river of tears. So, cheers with a coffee mug that will spill down its side to restain the inside of me. In hindsight my open third eye could always see that time and me are cognate. We are intimate. I am infinite.

performance poetry

About the Creator

Youri Joseph

just a kid who thinks in ink and speaks in rhyme

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Youri JosephWritten by Youri Joseph

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.