Poets logo

(Coffee) Grounds for Falling in Love

Or, I still don't like pumpkin spice latte

By Sonia Heidi UnruhPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - July 2023
37
(Coffee) Grounds for Falling in Love
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Our love's origin story is retro --

Our lattes were switched at the Metro.

Interest peaked like a mountain,

Talk flowed like a fountain ...

We were soul-mates from the get-go.

*()*

This poem goes out to Emma Kate Coleman, who accepted my special invitation to new subscribers to suggest two words to incorporate into a limerick. She gave me “metro” and “mountain.” Thanks, Emma! Most of my limericks are (meant to be) humorous, but having postponed Emma's limerick while I was working on the Short and Sweet love poem challenge (see: In This Hour), this one took a different direction. (By the way, check out Emma's contribution to that challenge, Glow.)

Two truths and a lie about this poem.

1. I do LOVE coffee. But not pumpkin spice latte.

2. My favorite coffee shop is really called the Metro (short for Metropolitan Coffee). I often go there to write.

3. As I write this, I'm gazing at the heavenly Sangre de Cristo mountain range, while on vacation in Colorado.

(#1 is the lie. Well, actually a half-lie. I do love coffee, but I don't hate pumpkin spice latte. It's coffee.)

(p.s. Another lie: The love story is wholly invented. My REAL first encounter with my husband was mutual disdain from the get-go ... but that's a matter for another poem.)

Here are a few more limericks inspired by new subscribers:

love poems
37

About the Creator

Sonia Heidi Unruh

I love: my husband and children; all who claim me as family or friend; the first bite of chocolate; the last blue before sunset; solving puzzles; stroking cats; finding myself by writing; losing myself in reading; the Creator who is love.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    Lol, do or do you not like pumpkin coffee. Maybe it’s not here or there. Love your personal pictures you shared in this poem ♥️🥳Congratulations on Top story

  • Meg9 months ago

    Such a nice story :) congrats on top story!

  • Denise E Lindquist9 months ago

    Congratulations on top story 😊💕

  • Joelle E🌙9 months ago

    This is sooo cute 👏🏼

  • Glammy Girl9 months ago

    Nice💖

  • Love Story Perfection! 👏

  • Test9 months ago

    Great limerick with such a nice flow and content, and an emphasis on such a beautiful message rather than the typical cleverness of a limerick. Really nicely done. 👏Pernoste

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    Loved this. Very well done. Your title is so clever. Congrats on the Top Story

  • So much fun. (Even though I never learned to like coffee--though I do love coffee ice cream. It would have to be latte to the extreme, lol!)

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Yay! Congrats on TS, Sonia! You're becoming the limerick master. I love the wordplay with "peaked." Of course, I'm always admiring your rhyme ability too. Hope your vacation is going awesome. ❤️👏🏻❤️🥰 (Sigh, yes I'm a double commenter...)

  • That was a wonderful limerick! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Sheena Docas9 months ago

    Cool🥰

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    This was great, and I can't stand flavored coffee!!!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story💯🎉❤️

  • Alexander McEvoy9 months ago

    I would love to take a writing retreat. Sadly, I do my best work in the office during my break times. Maybe it has something to do with my mind already being in a productive mood? Anyway, I also love coffee! Though I will admit to a profound dislike of Pumpkin Spice Lattes. It's not that I hate them, I would just prefer a regular latte any day. Excellent poem and very nice picture of the mountains!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Awesome!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Wonderful! Congrats on the TS.

  • Heather Hubler9 months ago

    I like the direction this ended up going :) So fun to do this challenge, lift up a fellow creator and include some lovely photos. I love Colorado and coffee!! Congrats on Top Story :)

  • Ashley Lima9 months ago

    I love the title. What a beautiful tribute poem for a loved one. Well done

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    A view of the Sangre De Cristos always makes me homesick for my family's (former) property in Colorado. I was all set to like this as soon as I read the subtitle. 🤣

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Love love love this! Well done and Emma Kate is a great writer (I'm slowly discovering her work) Oh and congrats on Top Story, Sonia!

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Hey you’re in my neck of the woods! Well, kinda. 👋 Gorgeous limerick! I like the change of tone. ❤️

  • Emma Kate Coleman9 months ago

    This is great, Sonia! You made two words I find clunky fit in beautifully. 👏 Love it!! ❤️

  • so beautiful Sonia

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.