Poets logo

In This Hour

"Go as far as you can see ..." - Thomas Carlyle

By Sonia Heidi UnruhPublished 10 months ago โ€ข Updated 10 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
15
In This Hour
Photo by Shane Rounce on Unsplash

I

The way your hair falls

like dark rain over your eyes

I've been dry too long

II

What do I want more --

to rest, my back to your back,

or to roll over ...?

III

Up late with my dad,

I play a card, quip, chat, feel

your hand on my back.

IV

I've felt pain--deep cut,

bad fall--but you hurt

me. Me. Not at all the same.

V

In my wash I find

your lone grey sock. No

mate to hear me weep.

VI

We talk and talk, then

let holy hush fall

with the rise of a rose sun.

VII

I'm an ugly mess this day

You don't say a word

It's the most kind lie

VIII

By my cup, I find

one rose, and a note:

Love, this is how I see you

IX

As you bend to weed

I ogle your butt. You turn,

grin, blow me a kiss.

X

Eyes on book, you set

your tea cup too near the edge

and I pull it back.

XI

Tea gets cold. Sun sets.

I sit by your side

and hold your hand in the dark.

XII

The morn may come, love,

when your eyes can see

only your side of the veil

love poems
15

About the Creator

Sonia Heidi Unruh

I love: my husband and children; all who claim me as family or friend; the first bite of chocolate; the last blue before sunset; solving puzzles; stroking cats; finding myself by writing; losing myself in reading; the Creator who is love.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Very lovely, very real. Excellent verses.

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    "In my wash I find your lone grey sock. No mate to hear me weep." Among so many stunning haikus here, this one is the one I had to quote and praise. The emotion in such a short little poem is substantial and startling to me. I think the most amazing thing about this poem is that each haiku really does stand on its own. What an incredible feat of poetry, this. Truly fantastic work, Sonia. I truly truly hope this one places. ๐Ÿ’—๐Ÿ˜ต

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    Sonia, this was so beautiful! It was heartfelt and very elegantly written! ๐Ÿ’•

  • Everyday love, with a breath-takingly sober finish.

  • Chloรซ J.10 months ago

    Beautiful ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’•

  • Leslie Writes10 months ago

    This is beautiful. Especially the details. I feel the same way about my mate ๐Ÿ’–

  • Test10 months ago

    I love the look of this. Itโ€™s artful. Those last three lines ๐Ÿค

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    Very clever! Loved what you did here. Great job.

  • Heather Hubler10 months ago

    Wow, that was incredible. Loved that last set of lines. Really great work :)

  • What a wonderful story told over twelve sets of Haikus! I loved this so much!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.