Poets logo

Glow

For Dad

By Emma Kate ColemanPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
12
By Emma Kate Coleman (July 20, 2023)

Dad, pick me up. Take me up to my room.

Let me sit in your lap with my face to the moon.

Pull out the big book, and sing me a song.

I'll rock in your arms, pain of day long gone.

-

Dad, pick me up. Put me to bed.

Tuck in my feet, and kiss my head.

Don't shut the door. The dark will get in.

I'll look at the time, red glow on my skin.

-

Dad, pick me up. I'm big now, but weak.

The glow is dull and the dark at its peak.

Pull me out of this pit. Lift my chin to the sky.

I'll hold your hand and the fear can die.

-

Dad, put me down. I have to go.

I love a man who adds life to the glow.

Don't shed a tear. I'll be home in good time.

But my hand is his now, not yours or mine.

-

Dad, put me down. Gift me the book.

It'll stay in my case with the ones that I took.

When I long for your hand and my eyes mist blue,

I'll hold them and know that you love me, too.

-

This poem was written in response to the Short and Sweet Challenge issued by Vocal: "Write a love poem using only words with four letters or less."

love poems
12

About the Creator

Emma Kate Coleman

An overworked hard news journalist seeking creativity and community. Lover of dogs, antique stores and homemade bread. Thrift queen and photography peasant. Happy to be here. :)

"Write hard and clear about what hurts." - Ernest Hemingway

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Ian Read9 months ago

    Outstanding work!

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    This is phenomenal! 🥹

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh10 months ago

    The sweet cadence is just right -- feels like a nursery rhyme. An emotional arc of love.

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    A very sweet poem! Reading it brought back some great memories with my own dad. Thank you!

  • Denise E Lindquist10 months ago

    Nice!😊💕

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Eloquently written!!!! Emotionally touching!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Leslie Writes10 months ago

    Woah. This was powerful! Is someone cutting onions in here? Thank you for sharing this beautiful poem :)

  • This is lovely and would be great in our poetry weekend in Vocal Social Society on Facebook

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Oh my goodness, this was so sweet! I like how you were able to honor two different kinds of love within one poem.

  • No matter what, we're always Daddy's little princess. This was so sweet!

  • Beautiful. Reminds me of cats in the cradle. 70’s song

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.