Poets logo

codependency, pt. ii

a beat poem

By Morgana MillerPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - August 2023
21
codependency, pt. ii
Photo by Marek Okon on Unsplash

When I sleep I dream you're gone from me,

But I find you in a theater showing a movie we've already seen.

I run out half-way through; you run after me

swallowing the bitter backwash of our animosities

but I've already made it to the place where streets are empty

no lamps not flickering—still I wear your hoodie

paused at the intersection between freedom and security.

Wake up, remember all the things you changed for me

and all the times our love broke your ego into pieces.

Yet here I go again, chiseling at your inadequacies

and I'm wondering how patterns can repeat so differently.

Meanwhile you're really gone like we agreed

because I said it's what I need: to parse through memories

of when your trauma planted seeds that keep sprouting new weeds.

My violenced values need direct humanitarian relief

since I genocided them with each urge to keep the peace.

Fuck, neither of us would’ve wanted me to be this meek—

questioning my words every time I go to speak?

So stay gone while I erect my spine, please,

while I scrape away at each gray matter crease

to extract every barnacled anticipatory motif,

do a deep-dive exploration of my shipwrecked boundaries...

o

o

o

o

o

o

o

This ocean's keeping secrets that long precede

the times you trained me to trap my tongue between my teeth,

down here I see I’m almost always willing to concede

my will to anyone with a strong desire to defeat it,

that as young as three I learned to neglect my own needs,

and here at thirty-three, it finally dawns on me

a boundary isn’t something I need you to receive

but a commitment to show up for myself if I’m mistreated

and that includes all the ways I mistreat me.

It seems I've abandoned myself far worse than I dared think...

Maybe it's been me all along?

Maybe self-neglect is all I've ever known?

Maybe this isn't a meekness you've sown,

but I was always a lamb, those times I thought me a lion?

Maybe I've never built a hill firm enough to stand on?

Maybe I’ve never expressed what I wanted to show

because I never actually developed a voice of my own?

Maybe self-promises were just buttons poorly sewn

(popping off with careless flicks of my thumb)

because I never asked myself: “what do I really want?”

then loved myself enough to actionably follow up…

o

o

o

o

o

o

o

Here I am now, surfacing.

It'd be a lie if I denied this furious urge for liberty

(there's a kraken down there who wants to be released)

but I'd rather learn to love without losing my beliefs

because I found a treasure chest with a message well-received:

that you're just holding up a mirror while I beg me to change me.

It's true that even here, years beyond your worst treacheries

I could stake my future to our past, say with you I can’t be free

ignore your time-tested healing of learned toxic masculinity

invalidate the times you actually took accountability

make the old scars bleed again, say they run too deep

bomb the shelter you built since then, run adrenaline junkie.

But I’d rather do the hard thing

where you come back, and we can see

me teach myself this lesson that seems so feasibly in reach:

How to love you well while also choosing me.

performance poetry
21

About the Creator

Morgana Miller

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨8 months ago

    Back to say congratulations!!!! 🤗❤️🤗❤️🤗❤️🤗❤️

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Oh, this is brilliant, Morgana. Can tell you're being extremely vulnerable on this one and love the sorta-argument, debating feel to it. Noticed that you nearly recorded this - our loss that you didn't! Though don't blame you for not! Your writer's voice comes through in this piece as it does in them all. I was captivated by every single word, line, perfect phrasing and the ending was incredible! Thank you for being on this platform and well done on another fine poem and Top Story, Morgana!

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    Omg I could practically hear this being passionately presented on stage with a standing ovation afterwards. Every line had me hooked. Incredibly talented!

  • Joelle E🌙8 months ago

    Wow. Just wow😍

  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    Morgana, I like the perspective you present here form both the victim and the victimizer.. the idea that the characters joint love is a hindrance to the pair of them. The line “a commitment to show up for myself” hit so hard for me, this was something I needed to hear/ read today! The expressions of self doubt and self reflection in this piece are also just sooo relatable for me! I found some comfort that I’m not the only one with these thoughts and feelings. That last line is everything!! “How to love you well while also choosing me” the thing that a lot of adults struggle to do in a relationship as they are still struggling to know themselves. I think it’s braver to stay and work things out, even in the face of challenge and while working on yourself! Overall this is such a great read!! It hit all the right notes for me and I appreciate the passion and vulnerability within!! Also, I read this quote earlier and it came to mind while reading this poem of yours: If you avoid conflict to keep the peace. You start a war inside yourself - Cheryl Richardson.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Very well written! Also, congratulations!

  • Jennifer David8 months ago

    I felt every single word. I relate to this so much. And thank you for sharing. Thank you for carry these words with you and sharing them for those who you might not know need to hear them.

  • Mesh Toraskar8 months ago

    This is one of the best poems I've read here! Absolutely stunning

  • Wow 🥹❤️✨ Outstanding poetry Morgana … I’m bookmarking this to return to later… which will be easily done (top story in …. 3…2…..1…….😉☺️😇👌❤️✨)

  • ARC8 months ago

    You. Rock. What a line of inner questioning. ✨🤩 "a boundary isn’t something I need you to receive but a commitment to show up for myself if I’m mistreated" 💥 It's the first day of a new life - the day you understand this truth. Changes everything about the way we interact with others (especially our oppressors... including ourselves, as you so beautifully point out in the very next line). Love everything about this, Morgana. And *thrilled* for you that you are experiencing these tectonic shifts. Thank you for sharing this raw and honest piece with us. 💙

  • You've got me beat by thirty years & counting. I still haven't learned to do this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.