Poets logo

CoWarDice

and me

By Tarik MurrellPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Like
CoWarDice
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

I hate cowards. I hate to see cowardice absorb the mind and body of someone capable of accomplishment, far less excellence. What a waste, what a bitter disappointment; a receptacle for genius, a conduit for the ineffable excellence choosing to channel frailty instead.

They remind me of the worst part of myself.

The part of myself I want to move past. Sometimes I think I completely have, then I see a coward again. Lying to me, to themselves, about why they’re not achieving. I hear my words in their voice. I hear my pseudopragmatism tucked delicately in their mouths. I’m disgusted. Because I cannot judge them. To change them, I must change.

To make them believe, I must become. But how do you overcome fear that sounds like reason? You remember that all progress relies on the unreasonable. The unreasonable see opportunity where we see obstacle. They see steps where I see barricades. They see.

Read , then re-read. I’m sure you’ll find something here for you. Something here *of* you. You’re a gem, thanks for being here.

inspirationalsurreal poetrysad poetryart
Like

About the Creator

Tarik Murrell

A physicist learning to write.

I wrote a book! $10 and it's yours.

I want to eat from my writing. I feed it , so it can feed me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.