Poets logo

StOrm

ship of me

By Tarik MurrellPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
3
StOrm
Photo by JOHN TOWNER on Unsplash

I’m up and I’m scrambling. I’m up and trying to make sense of this. This ocean of dizziness. Nothing makes sense yet. Am I up? What am I up from? What am I up t-

You’re losing the plot get up. Open your eyes, focus. If you fall now you’ll be gone for hours. Or days. Or months. You’ll be gone again into that place. That dark and dizzying place where the world happens to you. You’ll become a spectator in your own life. A victim of inaction. The splinters of your life are scattered far. Your dreams made dust. Dreams. You used to live those. You believed in yourself. You had a plan and a goal. You were a runaway train. Lightning that left the bottle.

Is this how shooting stars die?

Get up. You do not drown here. I’m up. I will not drown here. In this ocean of dizziness, this deluge of adversity, I make a ship of my body. This ship is built for this. These seas know my name. They never stop calling it. They’ve drowned millions. These seafloor is a graveyard of forgotten dreams. Its body is salty with unrealized ambition. I will not feed it.

I am borne on it. I am born. Here. I’m up and I can hear myself think. I’m up and the sea is raging. I’m up and I am raging. The storm in me will humble this sea.

This ship -this body- will take me anywhere I want to go. I’m up. I’m ready to go now.

surreal poetrynature poetryart
3

About the Creator

Tarik Murrell

A physicist learning to write.

I wrote a book! $10 and it's yours.

I want to eat from my writing. I feed it , so it can feed me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨8 months ago

    Brilliance 👌🕊️✨

  • Tressa Rose8 months ago

    I love this, really beautiful job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.