Poets logo

Cigarettes thrown away

Gone to waste in the rain.

By John GilroyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
The tune that I wrote this to.

Cigarettes thrown away gone to wast in the train or at least that was where I aimed, its a bit off these days, I used to be on the basketball team don't you know, who actually cares its a half joke said at the bar to hide the subtle self embarrassment of missing the gaps in the floor when flicking away that cigarette butt don't worry it'll pass in a moment. I tell myself and whoever else can read my thoughts.My partner maybe. We enter the bar. We enter the house. Whereever I am I feel the door close behind me. I let it close yet I dont close it, my hand is simply there as a crutch for the weight to lean against. We're inside now the moments over. We're warm and the ligths are on. There's noise and some sense of reality. Waiting for the time to pass anyway. We either put the kettle on or go to rejoin our mates and put a smile on our faces as we sit back down amoungst everybody, or alone.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

John Gilroy

I'm a writer from London, now based in Leeds. Anecdotes, trians of thought and poems are what I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    ❤️💯

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.