Poets logo

Cigarettes and Blood Lust

Actors in a show

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
5
Cigarettes and Blood Lust
Photo by Joel Filipe on Unsplash

Rip open my ribs.

RIP OPEN MY RIBS!

I dare you to crack open my bones and plunge dirty nails

Into the maw of my chest,

Pluck out the still-beating organ there

And dine on my sour misery.

.

Split me open and bleed me dry.

Rip out my veins and ravage the unholy cavities

Filling my chest with air bubbles.

Kiss me like a biblical angel

And puff smoke into my lungs until I

Am a rampant grassfire burning, burning, burning.

.

Here, pluck the bone straight from my chest,

And run your sinning tongue

Across the smooth white plain

While I float far, far away on the cresting waves of sedation,

Dreaming in black and white

About the bloody, neon lights twinkling down the highway.

.

I am an attractive disaster,

The kind that doesn't bleed or scream.

I happen slow enough that you can settle

Into the rhythm of my demise.

I am an attractive disaster

And the world has come to see.

.

So, pull open my shirt and rip open my ribcage.

At least give the world a jolly good show.

Dip your hands into the cavity of my being,

Hold my heart in your hands.

Remember that I am only an attractive disaster

And give them the show they wish to see.

________________________________

Part two of the "Cigarettes and..." Series. The first one roughly in line with this is above.

surreal poetrysocial commentaryperformance poetry
5

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    Whoaaaa!!! This was so freaking intense and bloody!! I loved it sooooooo muchhhhhh!!

  • Patrick H4 months ago

    Nice work. Clever use of sarky, yet evocative turns of phrase. I've been working on a piece of writing for a few days and hope to post it shortly. It contains a line about devouring a heart whole.... promise I'm not trying to steal your thunder with the reference to consuming part of someone's body :P

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.