Poets logo

Christmas Time Covid

A short poem

By simplicityPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
1

I ignore deaths knocking
Unlike the cough and sore throat covid supplied
I guess it is a gift outside my Christmas stocking

Unlike the angel atop my tree, it's an unwanted holiday topping
So high, a pill for this, a pill for that, I could be unaware even on a santa sleigh ride
I ignore deaths knocking

I asked for a light up punch bowl before my head was throbbing
Time off is nice, it can't be denied
I guess it was a gift outside my Christmas stocking

I have fears, I swear I can feel my blood clotting
As I crawl from bed to kitchen on my belly, there's no room for pride
I ignore deaths knocking

I wish I was a character in one of those movies with the body swappings
Fever, runny nose aside
I guess it was a gift outside my Christmas stocking

It's been days and shows no signs of stopping
I sit in bed pondering how covid, my holiday and I coincide
I ignore deaths knocking
I guess it was a gift outside my Christmas stocking





Sent from my Galaxy

humorHoliday
1

About the Creator

simplicity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.