Poets logo

Christmas Poem

originally published in Gems Zine

By Svetlana SterlinPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
2
Christmas Poem
Photo by Inggrid Koe on Unsplash

Christmas Poem

we drive up the mountain

to a white Christmas

summer rain fogs the windshield

& I’m reminded of why I hate

Dad’s reckless driving.

winding road slippery

with motion sickness

I listen to Phoebe Bridgers’

entire discography

again. at the summit

mist tinsels slick gumtrees

smoke rises from solitary cottages

I try to catch my reflection

in their windows

at the summit

fog obscures the river

I listen to Joni Mitchell

instead of the waterfall

& I’m reminded of the poolside

susurration that lulls me

to sleep even now. I listen

to The Smiths & wonder

how long til Dad gives up

dyeing his hair. wonder

what hides among

mountain folds. among

shadows blooming

between swaying eucalypts

a little red bird

the only festivity

decorating slouching trees.

I’m wearing

a black T-shirt

and a smile

for camouflage.

sad poetryHoliday
2

About the Creator

Svetlana Sterlin

Svetlana Sterlin is based in Brisbane, Australia, where she writes prose, poetry, and screenplays. The founding editor of swim meet lit mag, she also edits with Voiceworks.

More from Svetlana: https://linktr.ee/svetlanasterlin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was very poignant. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.