Poets logo

childish games

archives series - 01/17/2021 - 10:22pm

By venicePublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
photo by vd photography on unsplash

i remember it being on a thursday

because i knew they had wanted

shame to find me on a friday,

at least that is how i remember it.

silence has a way of reaching out and letting me down

their eyes tell, something is coming

something worse than the let down

loneliness.

i cried as she watched through the window

they told me they could do without me

or my friendship

the world had left me for dead

all my friends turned

biting me,

sending me to the bottom

until i found my way,

carrying myself on my own shoulders.

i’m tired of this game;

snakes and ladders

poet's notes ~ stream of consciousness behind the poem

i don't remember much about this day other than in elementary school my closest friends told me they didn't want to be my friend anymore. crazy how times like these stay with you forever. i'm no longer angry but it's something i'll never forget. the worst part was that the following day it felt like i had been exiled, i was back at square one. all eyes were on me. i think that's why i'm always searching...what was wrong with me? will i ever find out?

sad poetrychildrens poetry
1

About the Creator

venice

i still write, you still inspire

based in toronto

*keep an eye out for poet's notes: the story behind the poem*

follow me on ig: @curatedbyven

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    I've been through the same exact thing! I too am no longer angry but the memory will always stay with me. Loved your poem so much!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Good work!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.