Poets logo

Child-Free

A Reverse Poem | Jen Gossoo

By Jennifer AshleyPublished 2 months ago Updated 6 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
44
Child-Free
Photo by Sandra Seitamaa on Unsplash

My life is meaningless

Without a child

I refuse to feed myself myths, like:

I am self-sufficient. I am an artist. My family is still a family without a child in it. There is no infant-sized hole in my life.

I cannot tell myself such lies. The truth is:

I was meant to be a mother.

I cannot say

I feel fine

Around all this talk of babies, for

I squirm

When our aunts and sisters ask why

I am willing to accept

Childlessness.

Please do not call it

Child-free.

I am

The childless sister and daughter.

I will not say that I am

Truly as complete as I could be, and

I feel

This is good cause for woe.

I refuse to listen to those who insist that

It’s okay, because

I am not a mother, but

I am going on thirty.

______________

A note to readers who know me in real life:

This is a creative exercise; not a reflection of my personal feelings. This poem that can be read top-to-bottom and bottom-to-top to glean two completely different perspectives.

Free Versesocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetryMental HealthinspirationalFamily
44

About the Creator

Jennifer Ashley

🇨🇦 Canadian Storyteller

♾️ Metis Nation

🎓 UVic Alumni 2020

Writing published by Kingston Writers Press, Young Poets of Canada, Morning Rain Publishing, & the BC Metis Federation to teach Michif in Canadian schools.

✨YA Magical Realism✨

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (33)

Sign in to comment
  • olymoolla2 months ago

    Your story is commendable and welcome to visit my id

  • Congratulations on your top story .

  • Tracy Kreuzburg 2 months ago

    I think this was brilliantly done. Definitely a top story!

  • M. Lee2 months ago

    Love it!! 🥰

  • Raduxx Radu2 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story 💓😘💖❤👍

  • Dorota2 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Daniela Alejandra2 months ago

    Amazing poem! Congrats on a well deserved top story!

  • Dariusz 2 months ago

    Congratulations on top story :)

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    It's difficult, isn't it to be strong in the face of expectation? But I think this poem has validity both ways it's read for that same reason.

  • Abolarin Ebenezer2 months ago

    I'm also a parent.. nice job

  • Ashley Shiflett2 months ago

    Very beautiful poem. Congrats on top story! Well deserved.

  • Laura Lann2 months ago

    I love how you handled this topic with such a beautiful double meaning that women can relate to no matter their stance because both are given a voice and a choice. I am the reverse read and empathized a lot with the first read in that I felt her grief of being misunderstood. Then to read it backgrounds and find my own voice expressed made me feel so heard. Lovely work! Congrats on TS.

  • Leslie Writes2 months ago

    Wow. You said something important here. So many people with seemingly good intentions pressure women about having kids or not having them. Both are equally valid and one never knows what someone’s fertility situation is, so it is best not to ask. I love this statement you made with you inverse poem 👏 💖

  • Real Poetic2 months ago

    This is so heartbreaking. I hope you are blessed with a child that helps you fill that infant-sized hole. ❤️

  • Test2 months ago

    Amazing job! Keep up the outstanding work—congrats!

  • JBaz2 months ago

    Well said, whether this is based on your life or not. Congratulations

  • Bravery TE Walker2 months ago

    Saving this, sharing this, loving this. This is for the competition, right? This one needs to be the winner. It's so good.

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    This is perfection. Well done, Jen. Congrats on the TS.

  • Caroline Jane2 months ago

    This is wonderful! Really well done! 👏👏👏

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler2 months ago

    Jen, this is so good! Brilliant in fact, and definitely deserving of Top Story!

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Mackenzie Davis2 months ago

    So happy they made it Top Story! Congratulations!!

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Brilliant & beautiful!!♥️♥️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.