Poets logo

Checking Out More Than Books

Random Thoughts #26

By Adam WallacePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

Are you feeling lonely, feeling just blue?

Please, check out my story; I swear it is true.

'Twas many years ago, back in 2005.

I was wiped from working, felt barely alive.

The dog days of summer, I was sitting alone,

When one of my best friends called up on the phone.

"You doing anything?" he said with a bit of sass.

"No," I replied. "Just sitting on my ass."

He's meeting an old friend and asked me to come.

I didn't know what to say; I was really quite glum.

He needed an answer; there was no time to yak.

I said, "Sure. What the hell? I'm not doing jack."

It was after nearly a one-hour drive,

The local library was where we would arrive.

We walked to the front desk and waited a short while

When suddenly I was greeted with a beautiful smile.

When my friend introduced me, I could barely talk.

With her bright eyes and soft smile, I could only gawk.

She was going on break; we met up outside.

When we were talking, many glances we couldn't hide.

The sun shone bright on her soft chestnut hair.

She spoke with exuberance and incredible flair.

All too soon, her break ended; I wanted to hear more.

She gave me a quick smile as she returned through the door.

With burgers, I asked my friend if she's taken.

He said she was single, if he wasn't mistaken.

Within a few days, she and I were at a bookstore.

Drinking coffee and laughing like we hadn't before.

At that point, I couldn't have imagined how

She'd be with me, even to the present time now.

That's seventeen years with more on the way.

I'm glad I took a chance that one hot summer day.

I reiterate; this was the 100% true story of how I met my significant other. Lucky break? Let me know, and take care!

love poems
1

About the Creator

Adam Wallace

I put up pieces here when I can, mainly about games and movies. I'm also writing movies, writing a children's book & hosting the gaming channel "Cool Media" on YouTube! Enjoy & find me on Twitter!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.