Poets logo

CHANGING TIMES

I remember when

By Margaret BrennanPublished 23 days ago 1 min read
16

CHANGING TIMES

.. I remember when ..

++++++++++++++++

Have you ever felt the need to cry,

And with all your might, you don’t know why?

Then suddenly, you want to dance;

You’re acting silly, but it’s not by chance.

+++++++

You catch your image in the mirror and look.

You think to yourself, “I’ll read a book!”

Then you giggle as your turn away

And say aloud, “Another day!”

+++++++

By now, your spirit is winding down

And it’s all you can do to not sit and frown.

You say to yourself, “I will not brood!”

Then scoff when others say you’re in a mood.

+++++++

Me? In a mood? No way! Not ever!

I avoid those pitfalls! I’m much too clever.

I’m on this ride and it’s just because

I’ve now begun my menopause!

++++++++++++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++++++++++++

Hope you enjoyed my silly poem. I remember those days all too well. Thankfully, at my age, now, I’m well over them. But, wow, do I remember!!

For Fun
16

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Patrick M. Ohana12 days ago

    : )

  • Murali22 days ago

    Beautiful Poem.

  • Shirley Belk22 days ago

    I still have those moments even past menopause, but I do remember hormonal changes...nightmarish

  • I'm nowhere near menopause yet this was so relatable, lol

  • I love this so much! 💫

  • Ina Zeneli23 days ago

    Lovely and true 😀

  • Such a lovely poem.

  • Mark Graham23 days ago

    Quite the poem. I think we all have days, weeks, months maybe even years of feeling this way.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.