Poets logo

Changes

It all begins in your head.

By KJ AartilaPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
9
Changes
Photo by Josh Riemer on Unsplash

It's all in your head!

They said with contempt, at my

brain's plasticity.

Neuroplasticity has been around, but disregarded for a bit.

fact or fiction
9

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    Whoaaa, there are people who actually say that? That's terrible!

  • You have to admit, they're not wrong.

  • Margaret Brennan9 months ago

    Just before I was diagnosed with cervical stenosis, I saw my doctor about the vicious migraines I'd been suffering through. Yes, he did scans, MRIs. You name it but never looked at my neck. Well, I was, after all complaining about "head" aches. Not finding anything wrong with my brain, he said, "I can't find anything. I think your headaches are all in your head." Angrily and sarcastically, I replied, NO SHIT. That's what I've been saying. I left and found another doctor who scanned me from the shoulders up and found the problem and put me on the proper meds. Your poem brought that back to me. I actually laughed, sorry, but it reminded me too much of me.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.