Poets logo

Changeling

Becoming

By Bex JordanPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Into the Light (Photo: @UmaSabirah)

I've stepped into your ring

(out of the stuck in-between)

Entering a new beginning,

I am become a changeling

Surrendering the idea of 'me,'

Reinventing my name.

I'm learning about rooms and doors and

Boundaries

That help to honor you

While discovering me…

Is this becoming?

I no longer recognize the person

I was trying to be,

She is a shell

For what everyone else

Wanted to see.

I am now a 'they,'

(with all the multitudes that brings).

***

I would follow you through fire

But all you ask is action

And time

And words

I'll give you

All of mine.

A falling away of

Vines that wrapped so tight

Around my chest

The suffering, the suffocation

The masks break as I toss them

Aside, no longer needed…

I thought they kept me safe

Inside walls, but really

They only kept me,

Hidden, alone, in the dark;

And a brand new day

Is breaking

And I am taking

My chance

To step into

The light.

surreal poetrylove poemsinspirational

About the Creator

Bex Jordan

She/They. Writer. Gardener. Cat-Lover. Nerd. Always looking up at the sky or down at the ground.

Profile photo by Román Anaya.

Instagram: @UmaSabirah

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Bex JordanWritten by Bex Jordan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.