Poets logo

Cut

Wounds that Won't Heal

By Bex JordanPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
3
Thorns (Photo: @UmaSabirah)

Last night I dreamt

You cut down all

The sunflowers, the roses

Until the front was flat

And bare,

Everything I'd planted

With such care

Gone,

Wiped out in

A single day.

All the work and effort

That couldn't fix

The damage that had been

Done.

I tried not to show

How much it hurt

To see the apathy

You'd (frankly always)

Treated me with.

It was honestly amazing

How you'd cleared all that

Growth, I don't know

Where you put

The life that had

Thrived before.

~~*~*~~

I need new soil,

New grounds to start upon

Because I'm not getting

Anywhere here,

I can't be

As angry as I need

To be with you

Breathing down my neck,

Interrupting my thoughts

This earth is fallow,

Salted, stinging wounds

That can't heal.

I shrink under a

Watchful eye,

Blighted by

A time I longed for

Your attention,

Your affection

Your touch that turned

To so much hurt.

My wings battered

And torn, tattered by

These thorns,

Arrows that keep

Piercing and

Piercing,

Poisoned by

Words,

No

I

Was

Never

Enough

(but neither were your efforts).

sad poetryheartbreak
3

About the Creator

Bex Jordan

She/They. Writer. Gardener. Cat-Lover. Nerd. Always looking up at the sky or down at the ground.

Profile photo by Román Anaya.

Instagram: @UmaSabirah

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Silver Serpent Books7 months ago

    This is really pretty. Well done! The imagery of needing new soil drives home the sorrow in this poem.

  • Brenton F7 months ago

    This hurts so much it' s that good! What a marvelous piece! Well done

  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    oh ouch! feel the pain in this one, Bex! Excellent as always!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.