Poets logo

Change of mind

We settle under false pretense

By Jamie-Lee TurnerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I write happiness in my head

But on paper, shades of black.

A deep line drawn in sand,

Waiting for the day I cross.

Flowers swinging with the wind

Creating music, sounds for my eyes.

A beautiful memory,

Faded, intercepted, converted.

What change will come upon me

Drifitng my train of thought.

Waiting for the green light to appear

My foot heavy on the pedal

Alone, I study my thinking

Questions, decisions I make

What if were all fiction,

An insignificant piece played as a game

The black and white boxes

Telling me where to go, what to do.

I step here, I step there

The queen waiting to charge.

Puppets, pulled and twisted,

A toy for someones imagination,

Smiling, even though you’re not

Broken teacups placed on the floor

The heavy silence

The cold, changing story

In-patience, it demands

A tale with an unhappy ending.

So I stand motionless,

Feeling the push on my shoulder

Whistles of thought, and whispers of secrets

I am waiting for your command

A close waiting to be opened

Re-told, narrated a change

The case unsolved and forgotten,

Drifting behind the closed curtain.

So at last, my choice is clear

Softly suffering, closeted.

Waiting for the light to take shape

The freedom that will emerge

I wait, my thumbs in agreeance,

The soft hum, dull in my head

Trained, dark control of my chest

Hoping, praying for the end.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jamie-Lee Turner

Letting my imagination run wild and sharing it with you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.