Poets logo

Cell Service

A Reflection of Connectivity

By Robert TrakoflerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Silent Scream by author

II know I’m closer to god

Because so many of my phone contacts

Are gone now

When I dial them up

They don’t always answer

And when they do

I never know what to say

So I just listen to them breathe

I hate to be the one

To hang up first

But I don’t want them

To hear me cry

So I just hang up

after a silent sigh

and I drift off to dream

in the unspoken’s

lullaby

I know one day

Most of my contacts

will have passed

and I will lose

my landline too

I hope by then the epitaphs

I’ve struck

Will merit your view

For In the twilight

Of a poets heart

When all that remains

Are the ghosts

Of their affection

They can only slip away

when the lines

of their conduction

hold sway

to connection

I know this

now

Because I heard

Their silent whispers

too

© 2021 Robert Trakofler

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Robert TrakoflerWritten by Robert Trakofler

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.