Poets logo

Celadon

n. a willow-green colour.

By Carly BushPublished 10 months ago 1 min read

She is all at once

the unsatisfied green of dusty church-glass,

a clunky, misshapen animal figurine guarding a sleeping child

the vomit green of a smashed bottle on the beach-rocks

glinting in the warm dawn

after the sickly moonlit revelries

and the antique green like those

perpetually unsmashed bottles

that line my grandmother’s kitchen shelf

in the attic of my memory

She is the flame in some malachite jewel

set on the finger of some woman

and the celadon of a fire-roasted dish

and the tail of the Fiji mermaid

sad poetry

About the Creator

Carly Bush

I'm a writer with a passion for highly visual and quietly subversive literature. I contribute to Collective World and you can find my short stories and poetry here.

Connect with me on Instagram and TikTok: @carlyaugustabush

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Sam Eliza Green10 months ago

    I'm fascinated with how you incorporated descriptions like, "sickly" and "unsatisfied" while at the same time convincing me to be absolutely enamored of the color. I appreciate this new perspective!

Carly BushWritten by Carly Bush

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.