Poets logo

In the Autumn City

In the moment it is enough to observe.

By Carly BushPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Get Comfortable Challenge
5

The sky is gold again.

I walk dressed in black and auburn,

seeking dusk-dreams in the autumn city

that I will wrench from my swollen heart,

where they glow like caught fireflies,

and put to yellowed paper, eventually.

In the moment it is enough to observe.

Each home in rose-blush, internal light

as sweet and pure as a lullaby.

The candles continue to gleam in the windows

like gas lamps

or the stars before their deaths.

I see their skeletons burnt out in the windows

of houses untouched

where the shadow of melancholy has yet to break itself in,

where there are no bloodstained sheets,

or rotted enamel,

only ivory keys and full-throated mockingbirds.

Houses where happiness still breathes like a

vine reaching for the sun.

I can almost taste the sweet gold wine,

and hear the records that every father plays

for their sleeping daughters.

sad poetrysurreal poetry
5

About the Creator

Carly Bush

I'm a writer with a passion for highly visual and quietly subversive literature. I contribute to Collective World and you can find my short stories and poetry here.

Connect with me on Instagram and TikTok: @carlyaugustabush

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Gigi Gibsonabout a year ago

    I love this piece! It made me use all of my senses and feel all the feels. You’re a talented writer.

  • Loryne Andawey2 years ago

    Beautiful imagery. Thank you for sharing this!

  • Rachel M.J2 years ago

    This is gorgeous <3

  • Caroline Jane2 years ago

    This is a poem that endures. There is a heaviness to it that has to be carried around. Great writing.

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Incredible imagery, loved this piece!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.