Poets logo

Cause I’m Me, my Own self

I’m my own self

By SRenaSPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
3
Cause I’m Me, my Own self
Photo by Yair Mejía on Unsplash

Flowers bloom like they glad,

They live their life in their pride,

Am I really part of their mind?

~~~~~~~

I’m not something that they can use,

Not something they can fuse,

Not something they can close.

~~~~~~~

I thought we were friends,

Not some trends,

But they used me for the grades.

~~~~~~~

All I wanted was true friends,

Friends who would be there for me,

Friends who would be happy for me,

Friends who would support me no matter what.

But was that too much ask?

~~~~~~~

In the search of true friends,

I made fake friends.

Friends who used me,

Friends who refused to support me,

Friends who couldn’t be happy for me.

~~~~~~~

Am I just a person they can use?

That they can throw when done,

Only to reuse it when needed?

~~~~~~~

Why did I change myself?

Why can’t I recognise myself anymore?

That was not like me.

~~~~~~~~

But why didn’t I leave?

Why did I stay?

Maybe I knew why..

~~~~~~~

I tolerated it,

I ignored it,

I went along with it.

~~~~~~~~

But not anymore.

I know my worth,

I know my value,

Even if they don’t.

I know what I can do

I won’t let them downgrade me no longer.

Cause I’m Me, my Own self.

(Thanks for reading! I would appreciate it i you would leave a heart!)

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

SRenaS

Writing is one of my many hobbies. I love writing stories whether it is fiction or horror, everything is written from the top of my imagination. I occasionally write on other communities and topics aswell.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Priya8 months ago

    Touching one! I too lost myself for making true friends.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.