Poets logo

Caught in-between

A poem about having severe combined-type ADHD

By Ellie MayzePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
I drank an average of 12 large cups of strong coffee a day pre-diagnosis

I hid part of me away

Waiting for some day

When I could finally understand why I didn't fit in

I walk on the beach

Hear seagulls screech

I quell the anxiety rising sharply within

***

Months later I cry

Wave confusion goodbye

Diagnosed with severe, combined-type ADHD

I feel euphoric and glad

Then grieving and sad

My history then actively plagues me

***

I'm not like most others

Not really even my brothers

But I must play the part to get on

Yet there is no place

I've yet to find space

To be my chaotic ADHD self - full on

***

That day was so sunny

Sweet as Autumn honey

On the sand under open blue skies

Wind cooling my hot head

A nice pebble to counter my dread

The calm North Sea the colour of my eyes

***

It's Spring, I'm a mess

I have nothing to confess

This recent diagnosis helps me heal and grow

I give myself grace

To learn anew, apace

Medication gives me clarity and woe

***

Not the sky, nor the sea

Nor the freshly leafed tree

I can venture out of hiding in daydream

I join up, I subscribe

Find my ADHD tribe

Glad, weary heart, I'm at last happy inbetween

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.