Poets logo

Catch Me

A Poem

By Rachel LightfootPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2
Artwork by Shelley Goose

You cast your line

and it somehow found me in the depths:

Dark water I'd fallen into some time before.

A line to bind the land to the sea,

Baited heavily.

I took your bait willingly.

It's not that I don't see the hook,

in fact,

"Made you look!"

with your Fisherman eyes.

Baiting...

I'm waiting...

for you to reel me in...

Read me a thousand mermaid tales under a seagull sky.

Tell me, are you angling for a catch of the day? Or something with more permanance and stay?

It's not that I don't see the hook,

Or that you're baiting,

But I'm still waiting...

Enfold me in print with your salt and pepper smile.

I often have the thought that you might be here for Sport.

Tell me, Do you let them writhe on the line? Or throw them back in kind?

Either way, once they swallow the hook, it sticks in the gut.

So, I'm weighing up the details on my damaged sea scales...

It's not that I don't see the hook,

It's just that I too, am baiting.

I'm waiting.

Biding my time.

I need to be sure that you can catch me.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Rachel Lightfoot

I like to play with words.

Poems, mostly.

https://rachellightfoot.wixsite.com/my-site

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.