Poets logo

Carrots in the Typewriter

A poem about creativity

By Daniel J. HeckPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
Carrots in the Typewriter
Photo by Luca Onniboni on Unsplash

I spread carrots in the typewriter,

Hear them crunch and grind.

Grease is my fave salad dressing,

A good lubricant for the mind.

A tangerine is my baseball

Let me come and swing for fences

With bats made of pasta clumps,

Tortellini’s quite the densest.

Zucchini is a blessing too

When lining the swimming pool,

Tastes of the world are my dentures.

Ice cream paper makes me drool.

My pencils, made of protein dust,

Dictate a fugue of pleasure.

Bring out the gallon jugs of spice

To pour out the perfect measure.

A glass of wine to top things off

Gets spilled upside my head

Where shampoo’s gentle touch

Shall eliminate the dead.

I paste Cheez-its to a computer screen,

The orange and green, they clash.

As if the joy came easily

In the form of meathead cash.

Asian oils, Russian flour

Czechoslovakian mixture

The camel’s milk and robin’s egg

Paint a distinctly African picture.

I stretch sausages to utter lengths

Of written power unseen,

The pen glides through scrolls of mince,

And pierces jelly beans.

Thoughts are gray and so are brains,

I don’t suggest you eat them.

But when I spin my linguistic quilt

I’ll always chew a neat hem.

There’s not a thing to be afraid of.

Go, and chomp anew.

I spread carrots in my typewriter,

And suggest that you do too.

Stream of ConsciousnesshumorFor Fun

About the Creator

Daniel J. Heck

Poet, journaler, short fiction composer, interactive story writer, board game designer. I believe in the power of multiple creative voices within one person, and of variety as the spice of life!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Lol, this was very whimsical and fun! Loved your poem!

  • Alex H Mittelman 5 months ago

    Great poem! Well written!

Daniel J. HeckWritten by Daniel J. Heck

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.