Poets logo

Careless Barefoot Heel

a Western

By Richard NaviaskyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read

Careless Barefoot Heel

She was breathing on my neck

with breath as hot as summer air

and sunlight dancing playfully

all throughout her copper hair.

She pinned me to a granite wall

with eyes as sharp as German steel

and ground my heart into the dirt

with just one careless barefoot heel.

-

She hoisted me up by my eyes

and threw me on her bareback horse,

then told me there was gold to find,

and asked, “You in?” I said, “Of course.”

The horse’s mane was in her hands.

My own hands were around her waist.

She turned her head to kiss my mouth

and locked me to her with that taste.

-

She ate my soul for sustenance

while we climbed through rolling hills.

Buffalo lay on the flats

like mountain ranges of fresh kills.

The days were long, the nights too short.

I hungered like an empty man.

She fed me scraps, and all along

I know that this had been her plan.

-

The vultures left the buffalo

and followed us in single file,

they in the sky, us on the earth,

parading death mile after mile.

We passed around each broken town

until we reached the last outpost,

then under cover of a storm

she crept inside it like a ghost.

-

Morning brought sun through the clouds,

which parted just like the Red Sea.

The vultures swarmed the yellow light,

and swallowed it gluttonously.

Out of the shadow of the town

she came blowing like a gale.

There was a sheriff giving chase,

and closing quickly on her tail.

-

I found a pistol in her bag

and steadily I drew a bead,

then knocked the sheriff from his horse.

She stopped and turned to watch him bleed.

Something passed between their eyes.

I heard him say, “I love you still.”

Then all the vultures swarmed on him

and left no trace of the fresh kill.

-

I should have felt remorseful

instead of feeling satisfied.

How could I feel pleasure knowing

by my hand a man had died?

“My husband’s dead,” she said, and winked.

“You’re mine forever, never free.”

That’s when I tried to run away,

but she would not let my mind be.

-

Again she breathed upon my neck

with breath as hot as summer air

and sunlight dancing playfully

all throughout her copper hair.

She pinned me to a granite wall

with eyes as sharp as German steel.

She’d ground my heart into the dirt

with just one careless barefoot heel.

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Richard Naviasky

This lover of words is a retired NYC firefighter (2/4/2001-2/4/2021) living now in Colorado where I write, draw silly pictures, play guitar, and keep writing...

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Richard NaviaskyWritten by Richard Naviasky

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.