Poets logo

Captured Innocence

i just want to be me

By savage writerPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Too young to have

thoughts of fatality and famine

The coronavirus is

nothing unfamiliar

Remember the Spanish flu?

Seeing a dead body lying in the

street is nothing unfamiliar

We’re in the ghetto, fam

Why should a child be so concerned

about whether they’re going to

live to see another day or not?

I go to the pool and swim away

the fears but even when I’m under

the water it finds its way

to swallow me alive

Don’t take me before my time

Don’t take me before my time

Don’t take me before my time

Aren’t I meant to share a glow

with a world in desperate need of one?

Aren’t I meant to rescue the same

children with the anxieties I possess?

Aren’t I meant to cease

the reincarnation cycle?

A soul that hasn’t released

enough of its karma find

itself trapped in a vortex

And every incarnate ended

with a premature tragedy

Miscarriage, child abuse

Rape, a victim of homicide

Terrified to death and had the

adrenochrome extracted from him

after being mutilated

I don’t want to return here again

I don’t want to return here again

I don’t want to return here again.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

savage writer

http://bit.ly/TRPY

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.