Poets logo

capture this ugly moment

buried in the dusk and blue boredom

By Andrei Z.Published 10 months ago 1 min read

slurping down disgusting alcohol-free beer,

munching on instant noodles seasoned

with slices of slim sausage,

scrolling thru yet another platitudinous series

about a detective fighting his demons and crime.

o, fuck, I'm dining, why show that much blood?

another evening meets me an inferior being.

you've got 10 minutes to get me hooked,

that's how much I need to finish my dinner.

i drink this horse piss and watch this dogshit.

well, ain't i just like Bukowski

of the 21st century?

times have changed, but things stay as they always were.

that's my personal evening, i spend it

as i want, i own it; in the morning

i'll be a completely different person,

i'll tell you a completely different story.

dang, i forgot to wash my socks,

tho these scumbags have holes in them,

i should trash those rags.

and i fucking hate going shopping for clothes,

yes i do. i do. i do!

maybe i should have a woman in my life.

maybe i'm getting older, i'm getting old,

maybe i should stop writing poetry, fuck poetry,

it's no good for my chronic headaches.

-- THE END --

social commentary

About the Creator

Andrei Z.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    “scrolling thru yet another platitudinous series about a detective fighting his demons and crime. o, fuck, I'm dining, why show that much blood? another evening meets me an inferior being.“ *chef’s kiss* rhythm—wow. (I pictured you were watching Luther, lol) Stunning poem, as always. Those dark, uncomfortable moments of unsatisfactory solitude—I’ve known what that is like. Makes you question all the things you’ve hitherto enjoyed, makes you wanna upend it all and start over, or just quit. A fantastic way to make such an evening into a heard hitting piece. 👏💜 And I loved your diction throughout!

  • Oh I soooo love watching shows with a lot of blood. Especially when I'm eating, lol! Also, word of advice, no matter how bored you are, never get a woman! 🤣🤣🤣

  • I've never understood drinking any kind of beer, though my father-in-law always said there was nothing better for quenching your thirst on a hot summer day (& my wife tends to agree), lol. But I feel your angst, Andrei.

  • Manisha Dhalani10 months ago

    Such a relatable piece - made me smile especially in the beginning parts. It's like I just knew what you meant! Well done.

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Another quirky piece! Why is poetry not good for your chronic headaches? ☺️

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    I sense a theme... And I had a free non-alcoholic beer last night. Attitude deserved. ;)

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Whoa!!! Feels good to get it all out! Never had ramen with slim jims before, sounds interesting. And please give poetry one more fighting chance. It needs you!

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    What I take away from this is the instant noodles. That's your salvation here. Socks will always be holy.

  • Brenton F10 months ago

    that's the spirit - keep 'em coming 😁

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    It's busy in your brain isn't it 😁

Andrei Z.Written by Andrei Z.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.