Poets logo

Poetry

tell me, what are you?

By Andrei Z.Published 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
Poetry
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Bigotry, you reduce commitment to small-mindedness.

Symmetry, not akin to primitivity,

Your sublime and gentle forms

Make me think of the Vitruvian Man and Christmas.

Poetry, o, you are well aware of what it is,

Suffocating me, obligating me—

I will follow you.

I will fall for you.

Will you swallow me?

Rivalry, please do not develop into enmity,

Be that fire that entices us with its warm

And welcoming incentive.

Apple trees, planted by my dad and me,

Do they still yield fruits?

This is where my roots

Once absorbed fresh dew

On the grass at dawn,

Childhood fairy-tales.

Now I set my sails.

Brevity, I am brave, you know,

I will watch me grow.

Gravity,

         tell me, what are you?

performance poetryinspirational

About the Creator

Andrei Z.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Katherine D. Graham10 months ago

    I enjoyed the poem-- especially how you wove your past , apple trees and gravity... very clever

  • Rachel Deeming10 months ago

    Take a theme and meander with it. I liked it. Thoughtful, nostalgic, philosophical.

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Mic drop!

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Tantalising ideas. Thoughtful and original writing Andrei ! 😄

  • Oooo, I loved the depth of this! I got lost deep within your profound thoughts. Loved your poem so much!

  • Manisha Dhalani10 months ago

    I see you have a lot of thoughts that you want to express here - and I like it!

  • I am not. But you, my friend, certainly are & well-equipped with both wondrous & fantastical ideas grounded with a heart for what is.

  • ema10 months ago

    Great job, I love it! 😍

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    I get a sense of you and what you're trying to express without it being spelled out, without having my hand held. I like it 😁 I feel like we are leaping from one cloud thought to the next, but all in the same sky.

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Ooh, how to describe what that is? Maybe I shouldn't, that might be overthinking it. ;) When it actually does describble what poetry is. Discribble was a typo at first, now I think I'll go with it. Poetry is describbling, pure and simple. There's a gravity to your levity, keep it up, it's addicting.

Andrei Z.Written by Andrei Z.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.