Poets logo

Cannot

Romanticizing vs Reality

By Lizzy RosePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Cannot
Photo by Sasha Freemind on Unsplash

I cannot, not anymore.

I cannot speak, so long

as the world expects me to lie

every time I open my mouth.

I cannot pretend to not feel

Atlas's weight on my own back.

I cannot hold back the lions anymore,

cannot block out their monstrous growls,

cannot slow the stampede of claws on concrete!

I cannot...breathe,

not while I ignore the shape of a sob

that each breath takes coming passed my lips.

I cannot move,

not while I pretend the tremble of my bones

does not catch my eye

and the weight of my limbs

does not bring me to the floor.

I cannot answer one more

"how are you?" with one more

"I'm fine, how are you?"

I cannot answer one more "how are you"

when the world expects me to lie

every time I open my mouth.

I cannot open my mouth,

because silence will come out,

and I cannot explain my silence

without explaining its source.

Are we romanticizing the pain?

Or are we presenting a reality you don't want to hear?

I cannot be looked upon

as the same person I was back then,

because I don't remember her!

Drugs and conversation only do so much

but even then, it is far simpler.

It is simply understanding.

Understanding

that I cannot always get myself out of bed.

Understanding

that a compliment will always be a double-edged sword

dangling over my throat.

Understanding

that pain does not just go away,

not after a lifetime.

Understand me when I say,

none of this is beautiful.

I do not write the words I do

to make you gaze upon my demons in awe.

I write the words I do,

so that you gaze upon them at all.

So that you do not see right through them.

Because I cannot keep begging you

to understand that they are real.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Lizzy Rose

Hello! I'm Lizzy, a poet and fiction/fantasy writer. I've been creating fiction since I was a child, making up and acting out stories. I started writing my stories when I was 9, and poetry when I was 11!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.