Poets logo

Candy Cigarettes

For The vocal Snacktime Sonata Challenge

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a month ago β€’ Updated about a month ago β€’ 1 min read
20
By Alf van Beem - Own work, CC0,

As a kid I loved candy cigarettes. Maybe they were meant to tempt kids like me into the real hard stuff.

It didn't work.

The video features "Beer and Cigarettes" by Terraplane

🚬πŸ”₯🚬πŸ”₯🚬πŸ”₯🚬πŸ”₯🚬πŸ”₯🚬πŸ”₯🚬πŸ”₯🚬

You Know That When I Was Only Six

They Gave Me Candy Cigarette Sticks

They Were Sweet And So Chocolatey

The Whole Packet Was Enjoyed By Me

🚬πŸ”₯🚬

Yeah, I Got Them On The Way To School

Smokin' Candy Made Me Feel So Cool

Sharing Candy Ciggies Made Me Friends

But One Day My Schooldays Had To End

🚬πŸ”₯🚬

At Fourteen My First Real Tobacco

My Mates Tried To Make Me Have A Go

Lit Up My First Players Number Ten

Coughed And Sputtered, I Binned Them And Then

🚬πŸ”₯🚬

I Was Definitely Unconvinced

I Haven't Smoked A Cigarette Since

🚬πŸ”₯🚬πŸ”₯🚬πŸ”₯🚬πŸ”₯🚬πŸ”₯🚬πŸ”₯🚬πŸ”₯🚬

Addendum:

Many of the comments have been creators saying how much they miss these. They are still with us. Here are some on Amazon if you still want some:

For FunSonnet
20

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ β™«

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les β™₯ Gina β™₯ Heather β™₯ Caroline β™₯

Babs β™₯ ROCK β™₯ Dhar β™₯ Cathy β™₯ Judey β™₯

Daphsam β™₯ Misty β™₯ Melissa β™₯ Ma Coombs β™₯

Celia β™₯

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming30 days ago

    I remember these so well, Mike! I can taste them now as I'm sitting here.

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    I had these too! And never became a smoker.

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a month ago

    I remember them so well. One type was bubble gum, the other I liked was some kind of chalky textured candy, but the flavor kept you coming back. Awesome poem, Mike!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a month ago

    Fabulous work! I miss those things! lol

  • The Invisible Writerabout a month ago

    I forgot all about these. Great entry

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Omgggg I love those things! It's been ages since I've had them! So glad you didn't smoke again after that. Loved your poem!

  • Jeffrey Allisonabout a month ago

    Just the memory of getting candy cig. just wow the love I felt of learning bad health side effects !!!

  • Celia in Underlandabout a month ago

    So remember those! So unPC nowadays! Glad you never caught on to the real do! Loved the fun in this albeit a serious-ish message!

  • L.C. SchΓ€ferabout a month ago

    Another one that just had the sugar sticks here, but jealous you got choccy baccy in yours!

  • Anna about a month ago

    Amazing poem! Well done!😊

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenlerabout a month ago

    Mike, this is charming! Ours were just sugar ciggies, If they had been chocolate, I would have been in!! So glad you didn't bite on the grown-up ones. Fun memories, though, mimicking our dads.

  • Ours were always the chalky sugary (if you can call it that), kind. Blast from the past. And yeah, we were so cool!

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    I remember those. There was also another kind. They were hard, white candy sticks. Did you have that kind as well?

  • Mariann Carrollabout a month ago

    I remember the candy cigarettes. This poem took me back in time ❀️

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Fabulous!!! Loved the sonnet!!!β€οΈβ€οΈπŸ’•

  • Mother Combsabout a month ago

    I remember how cool we thought we were as kids pretending to 'smoke' our candy cigs lol

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.