Poets logo

Can I Be Forgiven?

Praying for Forgiveness

By C. D. GuzmanPublished 26 days ago 3 min read

Can I be forgiven, for the anger I feel, for the hate that lingers, a wound that won’t heal? I know I shouldn't harbor such pain, but the scars they left, like an unending rain.

Mom and Dad, why did you make me cry? Why did you hurt me, why did you lie? Your hands that should’ve held me tight, brought darkness, stole the light.

Every night, in the silence, I ask why, why was I meant to suffer, to silently die? In a home that should’ve been safe and warm, I faced the tempest, the relentless storm.

I was a child, so fragile, so small. You were supposed to catch me, not let me fall. Your words, your fists, they cut so deep, In my broken heart, the memories keep.

Why was I meant to endure such pain? To feel love's absence, to feel only disdain? I looked to you for comfort, for care. But all I found was anger, despair.

Can I be forgiven for the monster I became? For the rage that burns, for the smoldering flame? In your shadows, I lost my way, In your darkness, I began to stray.

I tried to be good, to make you proud. But all I heard were your voices loud. Criticizing, blaming, never a kind word, In your eyes, my cries went unheard.

I wanted love, just a tender embrace. But all I saw was your angry face. The hate in your eyes, the cold in your touch, It’s hard not to hate, when it hurts this much.

Was I meant to be broken, was I meant to be torn? In the crucible of your scorn, I was reborn. A monster, a shadow of the boy I once was. Lost in the chaos, in the hurt, in the flaws.

Why was I meant to become this way? To carry your burdens, to be led astray? I didn't choose this path of despair, I didn't choose to live a life unfair.

Yet here I am, with tears in my eyes, a heart heavy with unanswered whys. Can I be forgiven for the hate I hold? For the dreams that died, for the love that’s cold?

In the quiet moments, I search my soul, For a way to heal, to make myself whole. But the echoes of your voices still haunt my mind, In the labyrinth of pain, I’m struggling to find.

A way to forgive, a way to release, anger, the hurt, to find some peace. Can I let go of the hatred inside, And find a way to be purified?

Can I be forgiven for the monster within? For the battles I fought, for the wars I didn’t win? I didn’t ask for this, this life of strife. To be molded by torment, to be cut by the knife.

Of your words, of your deeds, that left me scarred, In a world where love should not be so hard. Mom and Dad, can you see my tears? Can you understand the depth of my fears?

Why was I meant to endure such sorrow? To face each day, dreading tomorrow? In your eyes, I was never enough, In your hands, life was always rough.

I stand here now, broken but alive. Searching for a way to survive. To rise above the pain, to find a new start, to heal the wounds, to mend my heart.

Can I be forgiven for the anger I feel? For the hatred that’s real, for the wounds that won’t heal? In this journey of sorrow, of shadows and light, I seek redemption, I seek what’s right.

For though you hurt me, though you caused me to bleed, I yearn for forgiveness, I yearn to be freed. From the chains of the past, from the monster inside, to find peace, to find solace, where love can abide.

So I cry out, with all that I am. Can I be forgiven, can I understand? Why I was meant to be hurt, why I was meant to be torn, In the crucible of your scorn, a new hope is born.

To rise above the hate, to find a way, to heal the wounds, to face a new day. For though the past is a dark, endless night, I seek the dawn, I seek the light.

Can I be forgiven, for the hate in my heart? Can I find the strength to make a new start? In this journey of healing, of finding my way, I strive for peace, I strive for a brighter day.

surreal poetrysad poetry

About the Creator

C. D. Guzman

After a long 18 years I am finally a free man.

Welcome to my therapy, my thoughts, my struggles, my life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dr. Jason Benskin26 days ago

    Nice writing keep it up!!!

C. D. GuzmanWritten by C. D. Guzman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.