Poets logo

CAMEO DREAM

Was I Only Dreaming

By Margaret BrennanPublished 25 days ago 1 min read
10
image from: Pinterest

CAMEO DREAM

Was I only dreaming?

+++++++++++++++++++++++

As I walked through the garden,

I followed the stream,

Beneath the pale moonlight

And I started to dream.

++

The rose petals glistened

A droplet of dew.

Amid the fragrance of flowers,

My thoughts were of you.

++

My dress was of linen,

And the neckline adorned

With a black velvet ribbon

From which your cameo was worn.

++

The gleam of the moon,

Now cast a bright glow

On the small ancient city

Which slept down below.

++

Then I heard your voice echo

Through the rustle of trees;

Just the sad figment drift

Of a warm summer’s breeze.

love poems
10

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Sweileh 8882 days ago

    Thank you, follow my stories now.

  • Sweileh 88818 days ago

    Interesting and delicious content. Keep posting more

  • Shirley Belk22 days ago

    Cameos are so feminine. I've always loved them and the different eras they were popular in, too. Your poem nailed it!

  • Murali24 days ago

    Beautiful😍

  • Gosh this was absolutely wonderful! Loved your poem!

  • Babs Iverson25 days ago

    Dreamily beautiful!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.