Poets logo

By your side

Till death do us apart

By Salamatu BidaPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
1
By your side
Photo by Esther Ann on Unsplash

BY YOUR SIDE...

Till death do us apart

I'll forever cherish our today and tomorrow

The yesterdays--strains upon strains

My sunshine being clouded

I'm now exulted in my recovered happiness

Aging by your side...

Till death do us apart

Like the moon in the arms of the sky

I'll always hold you tight in my heart

till I can no longer breathe

Like reaching out to the sky

lots of growing up left--

growing by your side...

Till death do us apart

History will have us written

Written as history itself

Not as Layla and Majnun

Nor Juliet and Romeo

Not like Baji Rao and Mastani

Nor Anarkali and Salim

But as zawjie--zawj Salma

Till death do us apart

I will have you all over me

Till I can no longer open up my eyes

You will be the mirror I look upon to

Till my last breath ceased

I will hold onto your hands

I will be loving -- loving you

Till death do us apart

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • abdulaziz yarima paga11 months ago

    Simply breathtaking, kee it up

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.