Poets logo

The voiceless voice

Being heard

By Salamatu BidaPublished 10 months ago 2 min read
2

It's the witching hour, 2, 3, 4 or so

Clomp! Clomp! Clomp I hear him approaching

I then feel the thud of my heartbeat

Pat! Pat! Pat! Pat!

All my mind recalled is the sound of an unbuckled belt

Just an hour that felt like an eternity

My innocence, my pride, my dignity

My youth, my virginity nowhere to be seen

But I'm not that dollybird you just dump into a trash bin

I'm a damsel but not the one in distress

Don't take me as that broken fragile flower

I'm the comfort home not the uncharted water

Yet you make me always dangling between life and death

The morning slaps beats and the hits

The dragging of my hair was harsh and hard

The sound of my head pushed to the wall

The splash of the belt reaching my bag

The scream, the Scars—the blisters, and the bruises —

You make me live in hell inside my paradise

But I'm not a drummer's drum you beat savagely

Nor am I the donkey you drag to the sea mercilessly

I am not a bird, no net ensnares me

I am a free human being with an independent will

Yet my freedom you snatched away from me

You take me to be futile__not knowing

I'm mother Earth, the Dame of Nature

I'm that Apple tree

yielding the sweetest fruit

I'm baobab, the tree of life

Molested by the so-called lovers

Each second detestation felt for you increase steadily

My mouth was shut but not anymore

My screams weren't heard, I'm quite audible now

The heart that was so fragile, soft

And tender turns to concrete now

The bloody tears aren't flowing anymore

I will ripe the fruit of my immense fortitude now

The voice of the voiceless is echoing

The sleeping lion inside of me awaken

It's no more cultural but criminal

The after-rain rainbow has already appeared

There is no need for me to fear

Darkness cannot drive away the darkness

Let's break the silence this very day

NO! NO! NO to VIOLENCE

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.