Poets logo

by the bar

jorja smith x teenage fantasy . I had just came back home. you were the first stop I made. I had been away from home so long, and yet I stopped to see you. I didn't realize what I was looking at til the distance grew. I depended on a couple shots of something strong to get me through. I guess I thought I needed it to feel more fully, or to be so lost in stupor that I wouldn't care to feel. I could face my emotions instead of running. I could admit the pain and make it sound beautiful. But it was always more breakup songs than love songs. And a lot of angry trap rap. lol.

By Love ChukesPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
"Sitting by the bar." x March 2019. Love and Jade.

We were the thing of champions; shiny collectibles that gathered dust in the corner while other lovers walked out the front door. I'm guilty too. I jumped ship before the wind could lift sail. "Better off without me." I was a pistol waiting to be left in the wrong hands. I let my anger get the best of me. Cloud me up like a hotbox with the incense burnin' and a little nostalgia. But, living like I do, I wore my heart of my sleeve like high fashion. It was winter all the time- without the Christmas. I could never quite get the timing right. People keep handing me gifts, not knowing my hands been clumsy. I always felt the need to warn 'em. They give anyway. I don't suppose it's my heart. She isn't always well, trusting without the decency of shame. Speaking before I've had the chance to think. She doesn't know what she wants. Or maybe, I've been resistant. Still, I only know that she wants more, and these days she's never content. She gets a lot of people upset- emotional mother-lover.

They left us to fend for ourselves. Food was on the table, but I didn't know a freedom in my own skin under the many roofs we played "house". When there was nobody left, there was still me. Maybe I don't give myself enough credit for that. People say it's strength; I call it all the times I deserved a Grammy. Acting courageous. And now forgiveness taste like bitterness and hurt like a bad toothache. My tongue carries a wrath with it. And still I could find a piece of home in you, another world in my hands; I let him get away. I thought I would be better without it. I had to connects the distant orbits within myself.

Every time I picked up the microphone. Every time I closed my eyes, I couldn't help, but pen something about love and all the times I went to the lost and found about it. I sipped hope and illusions; I added honey to my Jack and cranberry juice to add some color. And we sat. Waiting for love to come back home. Mixing strong potions and slurring melodies on the tracks. Sleeping long and deep. I never stopped showing up. But the detours made me better I'm sure. Love was always on the way. I meant well, out getting you the world.

art
1

About the Creator

Love Chukes

"She wore her heart like high fashion. She had small shame in her game. She wrote with purest intentions. She held her mind to the blame."

I enjoy writing poetry, short stories, sudden revelations, and human confessions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.