Poets logo

Butterfly

I Will Miss Being A Caterpillar

By Angel AdagioPublished about a month ago 1 min read

I am no longer the caterpillar, but part of me misses the slow inching to life I was able to do.

I have waited for this day for so long, and yet I sit here crying knowing I will never get this feeling again.

And knowing that this is the end of a chapter for me in my life but mourning it,

how can I feel such conflicting things?

The bliss of knowing I will no longer have to be tormented by this nightmare,

but begging to have a restart.

Now I must spread my wings and hope I can fly, even though I don't think I am ready to go just yet.

The phantom feeling of the inching through life will always be there and I shall carry those memories,

but I will miss the slowness of life.

Stream of Consciousnesssad poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Angel Adagio

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Sometimes, I do feel that same way. It's nice to know I'm not alone

  • Emil indwabout a month ago

    Does this poem mean 'fear of change' to become a beautiful butterfly, a caterpillar has to go through a process and perhaps suffering:(

  • Dr. Jason Benskinabout a month ago

    Your poem truly captivated me from the very beginning with its delicate imagery and evocative language. The way you painted the transformation of the butterfly, from its humble beginnings to its graceful flight, was both mesmerizing and deeply moving. Your ability to convey such profound themes of growth, resilience, and beauty in just a few verses is truly commendable. Moreover, your poetic craftsmanship shines through in every line, showcasing your mastery of language and rhythm. The imagery you conjure, from the fluttering wings to the whispered secrets of nature, creates a vivid and enchanting world for the reader to explore. I found "Butterfly" to be not only a delight to read but also a poignant reminder of the beauty and wonder that surrounds us in the natural world. Your poem touched my heart and left a lasting impression, and for that, I am truly grateful. Thank you for sharing your talent and creativity with the world through your writing. I look forward to reading more of your work in the future. Best Regards, Dr. Jay

Angel AdagioWritten by Angel Adagio

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.